Track of the Week – Week One

So, as part of my New Year’s Resolutions I have pledged to write more and not neglect this blog as much as I have done, continually, since I set it up. In order to do this I will be writing at least one small post every week in which I give you an insight into my listening habits by posting my ‘Track of the Week’. It might be something old, something new, something borrowed, or something by Blue, but it will (probably) come with a brief history of how I ended up listening to the song and what I like about it, so here goes…

Week 1

‘The New Year’ by Death Cab for Cutie

From the album Transatlanticism (2003)

It couldn’t be anything else really, could it? I listen to this song on New Years’ Day every year and I’m not likely to stop any time soon as I’m not likely to get tired of it any time soon. ‘The New Year’ is the opening track on the band’s 2003 album Transatlanticism, the album that really got Death Cab noticed, culminating in them signing for Atlantic Records.

Death Cab for Cutie are one of my favourite bands, despite being on a sharp decline in terms of quality of output and the departure of guitarist Chris Walla in 2014 it is safe to say that at least four out of their first six albums would feature an a list of my top 100 albums (not scheduled to appear on this site any time soon). They are tentatively scheduled to release a new album sometime in 2015 that will, thankfully, feature Walla throughout. It remains to be seen whether the album will be a fitting and brilliant swan song for the ‘old’ Death Cab, or whether it will be hugely disappointing, a la Codes and Keys.

On to Week Two>>>

About Joel W Atkin

20-something man child who enjoys music, books, cooking and sport occasionally writes things about stuff and drinks beer.
This entry was posted in Track of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Track of the Week – Week One

  1. Pingback: Track of the Week – Week Two | said said said it out loud

Leave a Reply

