Track of the Week – Week Two

‘Screaming Infidelities’ by Dashboard Confessional

From the albums Swiss Army Romance (2000) and The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most (2001) 

Having recently read Nothing Feels Good: Punk Rock, Teenagers, and Emo by Andy Greenwald I have been on something of an early 2000s emo/punk revival, taking in a lot of Taking Back Sunday, Thursday and Jimmy Eat World (although the latter is just an increase in consumption rather than a revival), and thus I have been struggling with what to name as my track of the week. But then it came to me and it had to be ‘Screaming Infidelities’.

‘Screaming Infidelities’ is a song that brings back a lot of memories for me. Not because I used to sit alone in my room crying and listening to Chris Carrabba tell me that he had the same feelings as I did, but because myself and my group of friends (the Joe Man Hater crew), back when we were fifteen or so, used to sit around, put on emo as hell voices and scream this song at each other as loudly as possible. I hadn’t heard ‘Screaming Infidelities’ for a long, long time until this week when I put The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most on to accompany my reading and it is every bit as ridiculous as it was when I shouting tunelessly along to it in about 2005. However today, ten years later, I won’t be as quick to disparage the song as emo garbage, because it isn’t, because emo isn’t really a thing (despite what the Daily Mail wanted you to think) and, shit, I really like this song.

<<<Back to Week One

On to Week Three>>>

About Joel W Atkin

20-something man child who enjoys music, books, cooking and sport occasionally writes things about stuff and drinks beer.
This entry was posted in Track of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Track of the Week – Week Two

  1. Pingback: Track of the Week – Week One | said said said it out loud

  2. Pingback: Track of the Week – Week Three | said said said it out loud

  3. Pingback: Track of the Week – Week Nine | said said said it out loud

Leave a Reply

